Catch a Wave

About the Book:

Title: Catch a Wave
Series: Love Tippin’ #3
Author: Savannah Scott
Release Date: March 15th, 2024
Genre: Romantic Comedy

id you ever see a guy and just know you had to meet him?

That was me and Bodhi Merrick. I couldn’t take my eyes off him as he donned his wetsuit at the famous big-wave surf spot, Mavericks. I’ll never forget that day. Or every time our paths crossed after that. Big wave surfing is a small world.

And, as it happens, Bodhi felt the same tug—this irresistible attraction that drew us to one another.
We became known as surfing’s “it couple.” Our love was more famous than either of us.
Until life threw us for a loop and tore what we had apart.

Now, two years after our breakup, I find myself standing on my brother’s front porch, ready to beg my only sibling for a place to crash.
Only, the man who answers the door isn’t my brother.
It’s my brother’s best friend—also known as my ex-boyfriend, Bodhi Merrick.

Now we’re living in the same house on Marbella Island.
Bodhi seems to have moved on.
My heart will always be his.

How am I supposed to heal from the biggest tragedy of my life when he’s walking around in board shorts with his wavy hair falling across his forehead, and calling me the nickname he gave me years ago? Maybe I don’t want to get over him. The question is: After all we’ve been through, can we give our relationship a second chance?

Book Review:

I loved this book! There was so much heart in it, and Bohdi and Kalaine’s characters felt real to me.

I really liked Bohdi’s honesty in his life. It was interesting to see how he had changed after his accident. In some ways for the better and in some ways for the worst. He was still healing, and he was working through how to love Kalaine. He was such a sweetheart with her because even though he wanted a relationship, he chose to wait for what she wanted. But I really liked how they pushed each other to be better even if it was uncomfortable.

Kalaine was so fun to me! It was interesting to see her free spirit in the past and present. But she was also healing from her own accident. It was cool to see her move forward with Bohdi’s help.

The storyline in this one is super sweet. It’s still a closed door romcom, but there’s a lot of depth because Bohdi and Kalaine are working through their own trauma from the accident. While Kalaine never is clinically depressed, Bohdi mentions being depressed after his accident and going into a downward spiral. This is all past tense and mentioned during the end of the story. But it’s still fun with all the romcom vibes. I would definitely recommend this read to anyone who’s longing for a summer and looking for a beach read!

I voluntarily reviewed a complimentary copy of this book which I received from the author. All views expressed are only my honest opinion, I was not required to write a positive review.

Leave a comment