Betting on the Best Friend’s Brother

About the Book:

Betting on the Best Friend's Brother: a Sweet Romantic Comedy (Betting on Love) by [Melanie Jacobson]

Title: Betting on the Best Friend’s Brother
Series: Betting on Love #2
Author: Melanie Jacobson
Release Date: June 14th, 2023
Genre: Romantic Comedy

From brilliant geneticist to . . . bombshell on the prowl?!

My roommates say I’m a workaholic, so my best friend and bossiest roommate makes fixing my love life her summer project.

But makeover schemes? And blind dates with her weird library patrons? Not the answer.

Help!

Then she calls in her brother, Joey, as a dating coach, and it’s officially my worst nightmare.

Joey is one of Austin’s hottest heartthrobs, and I fell for him when I was fourteen. No other guy has ever measured up.

I’ll do anything to keep Joey from finding out—including putting up with a bombshell transformation—especially if fake lashes hide will my true feelings when he looks at me.

He rejected me once, and it nearly broke me. I’ll never give him that chance again.

Book Review:

This was such a cute book! I loved the first book in this series, and this one was just as good. It was so fun to read about Ava and Josh.

I loved Ava and her character growth in this book. It was fun to read about a strong, confident, STEM scientist. It was cool to see her connecting with every part of herself. She had thought that she couldn’t be interested in “girly” stuff like clothes and makeup, but as she went on all of her dates, she loosened up and learned there was more to life than work. It was fun to see her and Josh actually talk and get to know each other.

Josh had never really noticed Ava except in a little sister sort of way, so it was fun to read about him see her almost for the first time. Josh took a little longer for me to warm up too, but I fell so hard for him! He really was a sweetheart underneath his playboy exterior. And it was sweet to see how much he loved Ava.

This book was overall a ton of fun! There are so wacky side characters and twists that I didn’t see it coming. I would definitely recommend it! It is a closed door romcom that is part of a series but can be read standalone. I do think it is more fun read in order though!

I voluntarily reviewed a complimentary copy of this book which I received from the author. All views expressed are only my honest opinion, a positive review was not required. 

Leave a comment