The Pocket Pair

About the Book:

The Pocket Pair: A Sweet Small-Town Romantic Comedy (Love Stories in Sheet Cake Sweet Rom Com Series Book 3) by [Emma St. Clair]

Title: The Pocket Pair
Series: Love Stories in Sheet Cake #3
Author: Emma St. Clair
Release Date: June 9th, 2023
Genre: Romantic Comedy

Do I have feelings for my sister’s best friend? Of course not.

That would be stupid, considering my sister once threatened to castrate me if I ever hurt Val.

Hurting her is the last thing I want to do, which is all the MORE reason I can’t have feelings for her. Val deserves the world, and I’m NOT the man who can give it to her.

But when Val announces she’s leaving town (and the country), I’m suddenly confronted with some very capital-F Feelings–ones that refuse to stay stuffed down deep where I’ve hidden them for more years than I care to admit.

Having her crash in my guest bedroom until she leaves only makes things worse.

Little by little, Val chips away at my defenses, and despite all the solid reasons I have, my resolve starts to crumble.

The thing is–none of the circumstances have changed.

Val is still planning to leave the country. And I … well, I might have gotten more in touch with my feelings, but I’m still the same man.

NOT a man who can promise things like life-long commitment. NOT a man Val can count on. NOT the good guy everyone seems to think I am.

If only I could get Val and the rest of this nosy, meddling matchmaking town to believe me–and if my own stubborn heart wasn’t trying to convince me otherwise.

Book Review:

This was such a cute book! I loved Chevy and Val’s interactions so far in the series, so I was really excited to dive deeper into their characters.

I felt so bad for Chevy as he navigated trying to overcome his father’s mistakes. He was such a sweetheart who didn’t want to be like his father, but he didn’t know exactly what that looked like. His struggle felt really real to me, and I appreciated how it was an actual problem he had to work through.

I love Val! She’s such a sweetheart, and it was fun to watch her come out of her shell a little bit more and go for what she wanted. She had loved Chevy for years, and now that she was leaving, things seemed to be changing.

The plot in this one was perfect! There is a third act breakup, but I feel like it made sense for the story and for the characters. And I loved the slowburn, friends to lover vibes that kept engaged without feeling too stressed. There is a low stress, fun, romcom read with tons of quirky characters and laugh out loud moments.

I loved getting to see all of Sheet Cake’s favorites again! And I really liked how the characters are quirky without being one dimensional. I cannot wait for Collin’s book, and I definitely recommend this clean romcom read!

I voluntarily reviewed a complimentary copy of this book which I received from the author. All views expressed are only my honest opinion, I was not required to write a positive review.

Leave a comment