Betrothal or Breakaway

About the Book:

Title: Betrothal or Breakaway
Series: D.C Eagles Hockey #3
Author: Leah Brunner
Release Date: April 4th, 2024
Genre: Romantic Comedy


Book three in the wildly popular D.C. Eagles Hockey Series!

Can Ford Remington–team captain of the D.C. Eagles–forge the future he wants?

Ford’s love life isn’t non-existent, it’s just hopelessly one-sided. And the only woman he’s ever wanted—his childhood best-friend, Amber—doesn’t reciprocate his feelings. So why bother dating?

When Amber’s fiancé leaves her pregnant, and without health insurance, she’s prepared to do it all alone. Until childbirth causes complications with her heart and she needs minor heart surgery.

Ford proposes a plan: a quickie wedding, insurance for Amber and her baby girl, and two years of platonically wedded bliss.

But how will he let go when he’s not only in love with Amber, but also with her baby girl who now feels like his own?

And even worse, Ford might have to walk away sooner than he ever expected …

Betrothal or Breakaway is a dual pov, fade to black romance, with lots of sizzle but no spice.
This work of fiction contains mild language, depictions of child neglect, bullying (minimal), and the death of an animal (not descriptive). If you are sensitive to these subjects, please use these trigger warnings to make an informed decision about reading this story.

Book Review:

This was a highly anticipated read for me and I flew through it! The third book in the D.C. Eagles series features captain Ford Remington and his childhood best friend, Amber, as well as an adorable baby!

I was so excited to read about Remy! I enjoyed seeing the glimpses of him from the earlier books. He was such a joy to read about! I loved his thoughtfulness and his more serious nature. He adored Nelle and was so eager to support Amber. I loved seeing his protective side. It was cool to have a neurodivergent hero and I appreciated how it was a part of his character. It felt natural.  

I loved getting to know Amber! She was such a lovely compliment to Ford and so easy to relate to. I loved seeing the team through her eyes and getting to know her through flashbacks. It was very compelling to have the opportunity to see different aspects of the characters that way.  

The story was so engaging! I flew through it and was so invested in learning how it would work out. This is a great addition to the series! It is a closed door sports romance with pg-13 type innuendos and language. 

I voluntarily reviewed a complimentary copy of this book which I received from the author. All views expressed are only my honest opinion, I was not required to write a positive review.

Leave a comment