Once Upon a K-Prom

About the Book:

Title: Once Upon a K-Prom
Author: Kat Cho
Publisher: Disney-Hyperion
Release Date: May 17th, 2022
Genre: YA Rom-Com

What would you do if the world’s biggest K-pop star asked you to prom? Perfect for fans of Jenny Han and Sandhya Menon, this hilarious and heartfelt novel brings the glamour and drama of the K-pop world straight to high school.

Elena Soo has always felt overshadowed. Whether by her more successful older sisters, her more popular twin brother, or her more outgoing best friend, everyone except Elena seems to know exactly who they are and what they want. But she is certain about one thing – she has no interest in going to prom. While the rest of the school is giddy over corsages and dresses, Elena would rather spend her time working to save the local community center, the one place that’s always made her feel like she belonged.

So when international K-pop superstar Robbie Choi shows up at her house to ask her to prom, Elena is more confused than ever. Because the one person who always accepted Elena as she is? Her childhood best friend, Robbie Choi. And the one thing she maybe, possibly, secretly wants more than anything? For the two of them to keep the promise they made each other as kids: to go to prom together. But that was seven years ago, and with this new K-pop persona, pink hair, and stylish clothes, Robbie is nothing like the sweet, goofy boy she remembers. The boy she shared all her secrets with. The boy she used to love.

Besides, prom with a guy who comes with hordes of screaming fans, online haters, and relentless paparazzi is the last thing Elena wants – even if she can’t stop thinking about Robbie’s smile…right?

Book Review:

Ohhh! This was just as amazing as I had hoped! I am Asian American and I am always so excited to read books written by Asian Americans about Asian Americans. Once Upon a K-Prom was such a fun, cute teen read! This was such a great book!

Elena was such a relatable character. She was the youngest and there were times when she felt invisible. She was also a very focused character, she was trying her best to plan for everything. I really felt for Elena as she tried to find her place in this world. She was trying to do so much to prove her worth, she wanted to make her family see her. I loved reading about Elena as she learned about herself. Elena had to learn to let go of control and enjoy life. She had to learn that maybe things weren’t the way that she thought them to be.

Robbie was also fun, I liked how he felt real. He was an idol, a star and yet he was also just trying to find his way through life. He was kind but he was also young, and he just wanted to be himself. Robbie was trying to balance being an idol, listening to the rules and branching out. Elena was a bright spot in his life, but he had to understand that she had grown up. Robbie had to learn that people are worth more than the accomplishments of life. 

Robbie and Elena were sweet together. I liked how although they were cute, this book was also about them finding themselves. Robbie and Elena had to work through their own issues and learn to find out how to truly live life. They were young and still growing. The side characters were fun, Robbie’s band members and Elena’s friends plus the kids she worked with. I read this in one day, it was such a great book! 

I liked how the book didn’t feel rushed. I was a little worried that it would be really awkward because some teen books are, but this one was just perfect. It felt real without being really crazy. I also loved the protatial of Elena’s family, that was just lovely to me. I liked how it showed how Asian families could be, Elena’s family just wanted to give their children a better life. 

Once Upon a K-Prom was such a wonderful book! I would totally recommend it! The characters were awesome and I loved the story. Once Upon a K-Prom is a clean, ya rom-com book! I would recommend it to those who enjoy fun, feel good, high school romances. It was clean with a couple of curse words so probably at least 13 and up. 

I voluntarily reviewed a complimentary copy of this book which I received from the publisher through Netgalley. All views expressed are only my honest opinion, a positive review was not required.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s